h1

Calm Birth

May 28, 2009

Last week, my wife and I finished the Calm Birth course. This is a course run alongside ante-natal classes. The latter is a ‘this is what happens’ class, the former is ‘this is how it can happen’ class. It’s designed to make birth a calm an natural experience. We found it very helpful both for birth (although we haven’t tried it out yet) and in live in general.

Some key tennants to the Calm Birth are:

1. to examine and recalibrate a  mother’s beliefs and attitudes about birth as these can be one of the major differences between a positive or negative birth experience, and

2. to develop the practical skills of Relaxation, Breathing and Visualisation which are used during pregnancy, labour, childbirth and beyond

For the first, it makes a whole lot of sense. When we think of birth, we think pain, screaming, cursing one’s husband etc. However, these ‘beliefs’ cause fear, and fear causes physiological actions like blood rushing to our extremities rather than staying in our core where you need it for birthing.  Basically, fear and anxiety is good for running away from lions but not good for birth. So, if we change our beliefs about birth, we won’t have fear and a woman’s body can do what it was designed for. Also, it encouraged women who had positive birth experiences to share them, as you only seem to hear the bad ones. The second focuses on practical ways to stay calm and help the birthing process. We’ll certainly be trying this out and if you ask us, we’ll let you know

It was quite New Agey, but it led me to marvel more at God’s work. A common thread in the course was that a woman’s body is ‘designed’ for birth; it’s natural process, not a medical condition. No recognition was given to the designer, I’m very glad I can give him praise for it. Also, it’s tips on relaxation were very helpful; how you can do certain physical things such as breathing and visualising and you mentally become relaxed. I was reminded me that ideas from the world can be useful and incorporated into my worship of God. So I was challenged to take time out to relax and while doing so, reflect on the character of God.

Much more I could say about the course. I’m, so far, happy to recommend it but we’ll see how it goes in practice.

5 comments

  1. I was googling “calm birth” and you’re blog came up. Then I saw you’re blogroll and you know Dave Miers. How funny!

    My wife and I are Christians who will be giving birth in September and there’s talk of trying this calm birth thing out.

    Thanks for the review.

    If you know of any other info some links would be great.

    Joel


  2. Hi Joel,
    We had a great time doing calm birth but we still haven’t had our baby yet so I can’t tell you how effective it was. I don’t think I know of any other calm birth links – we just heard about it from word of mouth.
    Hope the pregnancy is going well!

    P.S. I’m at Moore College with Dave Miers. Are you on the Central Coast?


  3. Cool mate thanks. Hope you guys go well too.

    Yeah a coasty through and through. Went to Church with dave.

    Nice blog too


  4. Cool, hope life is going well on the coast and I’ll no doubt post whether calm birth was worthwhile post birth. Glad you like the blog.


  5. Hi, did you end up posting about your calm birth experience after your baby was born? (couldn’t see anything) My Husband and I are Christians and looking into calm birth too, so I’m interested in whether it was useful during labour?



Leave a Reply

