h1

Christmas Day thought – Carols

December 25, 2009

Merry Christmas everyone in the blog world!

My thought for Christmas day regards Christmas carols. With Natasha sleeping so badly, I’ve taken to singing Christmas carols to her while rocking her to sleep (If anyone from Tresillian is readying; yes, we’ve left her to cry, then gave her a pat, then repeat before I picked her up). However, it has been really lovely reflecting on the words of the many Christian Carols. Many particularly focus (appropriately) on the incarnation – God becoming human in Jesus. Not only does this enable Jesus to save humanity by entering into humanity, but also shows that we have a God who can relate to all that we go through as humans. He knows our fears, joys, griefs and delights. The verse below from ‘Once in Royal David’s City’ reflects on this. How I love relating and depending on a God who knows me and what it is like to be me.

For he is our childhood’s pattern,
day by day like us he grew;
he was little, weak and helpless,
tears and smiles like us he knew.
and he feeleth for our sadness,
and he shareth in our gladness.

2 comments

  1. G’day Anton,

    I’m out at Stanhope Anglican.

    I understand you’re our new Stud Min??

    Assuming I’ve got that right, we’ll see you soon.

    Looking forward to it.

    Cheers,
    Jeff


    • Hi Jeff,
      Yes, I’ll be there at Stanhope next year. How on earth did you find my blog?
      Looking forward to meeting you all. I think Jan 10 is my first day, so see you there.
      Anton



Leave a Reply

